Take Action

logo_redesign_MSB2-21

ATLANTA TREE ORDINANCE — YOUR VOICE IS CRITICAL

We have a rare opportunity right now to protect our urban forest. The city is revising the Tree Ordinance in the next few months and it will not be reviewed again for another decade or more. In response to this opportunity, Atlantans (including arborists, architects, builders, and naturalists) have collaborated to develop a 4-Step Plan for the ordinance that would balance our growth plan to embrace our economy, community, and our urban forest.

*  EMAIL YOUR CITY OFFICIALS  *

Copy/paste this letter and send to the Urban Ecology Framework team, your Council Member, Tim Keane, and Mayor Lance-Bottoms. Contact list and district map at the bottom of this page.

Dear  ________ ,

[Share a personal note here]

Atlanta’s urban forest is an invaluable resource that exists mostly on residential property. With a stronger Tree Ordinance it is possible to sustain our unique canopy as we grow.

Please use the power of your office to help make changes to our Tree Ordinance that:

  • SAVE MORE TREES: by planning for trees at the beginning of the development process
  • PRESERVE OUR BEST TREES
  • REDUCE GRADING & IMPERVIOUS SURFACE
  • RESULT IN EFFECTIVE ENFORCEMENT

Thank you.
John Doe


 

DECISION MAKER CONTACT LIST

Urban Ecology Framework Team (this is the group that is writing the ordinance AND asking for your input!)
City of Atlanta Urban Ecology Framework, C/O PEQ, INC.
110 Orchard St.
Fairburn, GA 30213
Email: urbanecology@peqatl.com, eajohnson@atlantaga.gov


City of Atlanta Elected Officials
(email your council person, Tim Keane and Mayor Lance-Bottoms). 
Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave., Atlanta, GA 30303

Mayor: Keisha Lance Bottoms, 404-330-6054, kbottoms@atlantaga.gov, Suite 2900
Commissioner of City Planning: Tim Keane, 404-330-6037, tkeane@atlantaga.gov, Suite 1450

Atlanta City Council: Suite 2900
City Council President: Felicia Moore, 404-330-6052, fmoore@atlantaga.gov
District 1: Carla Smith, 404-330-6039,  csmith@atlantaga.gov
District 2: Amir R. Farokhi, 404-330-6038, arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
District 3: open seat, 404-330-6046, tkeane@atlantaga.gov
District 4: Cleta Winslow, 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong, 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov
District 6: Jennifer N. Ide, 404-330-6049, jnide@atlantaga.gov
District 7: Howard Shook, 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov
District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit, 404-330-6051, jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
District 9: Dustin Hillis, 404-330-6044, drhillis@atlantaga.gov
District 10: Andrea L. Boone, 404-330-6055, aboone@atlantaga.gov
District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet, 404-330-6054, mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
District 12: Joyce Sheperd, 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov

Post 1 At Large: Micheal Julian Bond, mbond@atlantaga.gov
Post 2 At Large: Matt Westmoreland, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov
Post 3 At Large: Andre Dickens, adickens@atlantaga.gov

District City Map


Thanks for taking action! For more opportunities to make an impact:

Sign Up Here

 


search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close