Atlanta Tree Ordinance

We have a rare opportunity right now to protect our urban forest. In the next few weeks the city will write the first draft of the new Atlanta Tree Ordinance. It will not be revised again for another decade or more. In response, a group of Atlantans (including arborists, architects, builders, and naturalists) has developed a 4-Step Plan for the ordinance that would enhance our growth plan to embrace our economy, community, and our urban forest.



*  EMAIL YOUR CITY OFFICIALS  *

Copy/paste this letter and send to the UEF team, your Council Member, Mayor Bottoms, and Tim Keane (anyone in Metro Atlanta can write the UEF team and Tim Keane). Full contact info and a district map at the bottom of this page.

Dear  ________,

[Share a personal note here about why the trees of Atlanta are important to you.]

Thank you for taking on the important work of revising our Tree Ordinance. Please support changes that protect more trees, our best trees, and our highest value urban forest. Otherwise, Atlanta will become unbearably hot with catastrophic stormwater costs, falling property values, and broken communities. 

Please use the power of your office to help make changes to our Tree Ordinance that:

  • SAVE MORE TREES: by planning for trees at the beginning of the development process
  • PRESERVE OUR BEST TREES
  • REDUCE GRADING AND IMPERVIOUS SURFACE
  • ENSURE EFFECTIVE ENFORCEMENT

Our trees are a beloved part of our City’s character and an invaluable, irreplaceable resource. If our Ordinance does not work, we will lose our urban forest.

Sincerely,
John Doe


DECISION MAKER CONTACT LIST

Urban Ecology Framework Team (this is the group that is writing the ordinance AND asking for your input!)
City of Atlanta Urban Ecology Framework, C/O PEQ, INC.
110 Orchard St.
Fairburn, GA 30213
Email: urbanecology@peqatl.com, eajohnson@atlantaga.gov


City of Atlanta Elected Officials
(write your council person, Tim Keane and Mayor Lance-Bottoms). 
Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave., Atlanta, GA 30303

Mayor: Keisha Lance Bottoms, 404-330-6054, kbottoms@atlantaga.gov, Suite 2900
Commissioner of City Planning: Tim Keane, 404-330-6037, tkeane@atlantaga.gov, Suite 1450

Atlanta City Council: Suite 2900
City Council President: Felicia Moore, 404-330-6052, fmoore@atlantaga.gov
District 1: Carla Smith, 404-330-6039,  csmith@atlantaga.gov
District 2: Amir R. Farokhi, 404-330-6038, arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
District 3: open seat, 404-330-6046, tkeane@atlantaga.gov
District 4: Cleta Winslow, 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong, 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov
District 6: Jennifer N. Ide, 404-330-6049, jnide@atlantaga.gov
District 7: Howard Shook, 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov
District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit, 404-330-6051, jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
District 9: Dustin Hillis, 404-330-6044, drhillis@atlantaga.gov
District 10: Andrea L. Boone, 404-330-6055, aboone@atlantaga.gov
District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet, 404-330-6054, mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
District 12: Joyce Sheperd, 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov

Post 1 At Large: Micheal Julian Bond, mbond@atlantaga.gov
Post 2 At Large: Matt Westmoreland, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov
Post 3 At Large: Andre Dickens, adickens@atlantaga.gov


Thanks for taking action! For more opportunities to make a difference:

Sign Up Here


search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close