Tree Protection Ordinance

The City is rewriting the Atlanta Tree Ordinance, which will not be revised again for another decade. Email decision makers today and share our 4-Step Plan that will meet the criteria necessary to sustain our urban forest as we grow!

logo_redesign_MSB2-21

*  SEND THE BELOW TO DECISION MAKERS TODAY  *



Dear Commissioner Tim Keane, Dept. of Planning, and the Tree Ordinance re-write team,

Why I care about Atlanta’s existing trees and urban forest: (add a personal note here)

The #1 priority for our new ordinance must be to protect existing trees. Atlanta’s trees are essential to it’s character and an invaluable, irreplaceable resource. The existing Tree Ordinance isn’t working. We are losing too many trees in our neighborhoods to unchecked development. If we do not start saving high value trees now, we will not remain a City in the Forest.

The new Atlanta Tree Ordinance must:
• SAVE MORE TREES by planning for trees at the beginning of the development process
• PRESERVE OUR BEST TREES like healthy older oaks & native species in rich soils
• REDUCE GRADING & IMPERVIOUS SURFACE because to save trees we must protect soil
• ENFORCE TO DETER VIOLATIONS like illegal cutting & harm to trees on construction sites

Sincerely,
your name and address

 


 

SEND TO: eajohnson@atlantaga.gov, urbanecology@peqatl.com
(Elizabeth Johnson and the Urban Ecology Framework and ATO re-write team)

CC: tkeane@atlantaga.gov, kbottoms@atlantaga.gov, dzaparanick@atlantaga.gov, kaevans@atlantaga.gov, fmoore@atlantaga.gov
(Comm. Tim Keane; Mayor Lance Bottoms; Arborist David Zaparanick; Kathy Evans, Tree Conservation Comm.; City Council Pres. Felicia Moore )

& ADD your Council Members:
(District map below)
District 1: Carla Smith, 404-330-6039,  csmith@atlantaga.gov
District 2: Amir R. Farokhi, 404-330-6038, arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
District 3: Antonio Brown, 404-330-6046,  antoniobrown@atlantaga.gov
District 4: Cleta Winslow, 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong, 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov
District 6: Jennifer N. Ide, 404-330-6049, jnide@atlantaga.gov
District 7: Howard Shook, 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov
District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit, 404-330-6051, jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
District 9: Dustin Hillis, 404-330-6044, drhillis@atlantaga.gov
District 10: Andrea L. Boone, 404-330-6055, aboone@atlantaga.gov
District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet, 404-330 6054, mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
District 12: Joyce Sheperd, 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov
/ / /
Post 1 At Large: Michael Julian Bond, mbond@atlantaga.gov
Post 2 At Large: Matt Westmoreland, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov
Post 3 At Large: Andre Dickens, adickens@atlantaga.gov
/ / /
City Council President: Felicia Moore, 404-330-6052, fmoore@atlantaga.gov
/ / /
Mailing address: Atlanta City Hall, 55 Trinity Ave., Atlanta, GA 30303

District City Map


Thanks for taking action! For more opportunities:

Sign Up Here


search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close