Atlanta Tree Ordinance

YOUR VOICE IS CRITICAL

We have a rare opportunity right now to protect our urban forest. In the next few months the city is revising the Tree Ordinance. It will not be revised again for another decade or more. In response, a group of Atlantans (including arborists, architects, builders, and naturalists) has developed a 4-Step Plan for the ordinance that would enhance our growth plan to embrace our economy, community, and our urban forest.



*  EMAIL YOUR CITY OFFICIALS  *

Copy/paste this letter and send to your Council Member and Tim KeaneCommissioner of Planning (anyone can write Tim Keane). Scroll to the bottom of the page for a contact list and District map.

Dear  ________,

[Share a personal note here about why the trees of Atlanta are important to you.]

Thank you for taking on the important work of revising our Tree Ordinance. Please support changes that protect more trees, our best trees, and our highest value urban forest. Otherwise, Atlanta will become unbearably hot with catastrophic stormwater costs, falling property values, and broken communities. 

Please use the power of your office to help make changes to our Tree Ordinance that:

  • SAVE MORE TREES: by planning for trees at the beginning of the development process
  • PRESERVE OUR BEST TREES
  • REDUCE GRADING AND IMPERVIOUS SURFACE
  • EFFECTIVE ENFORCEMENT

Our trees are a beloved part of our City’s character and an invaluable, irreplaceable resource. We must make these changes to the Ordinance, or we will lose our urban forest.

Sincerely,
Jane Doe


Thanks for taking action! For more opportunities to make an impact:

Sign Up Here


DECISION MAKER CONTACT INFO

Commissioner of City Planning: Tim Keane, 404-330-6037, tkeane@atlantaga.gov, Suite 1450
Atlanta City Council President: Felicia Moore, 404-330-6052, fmoore@atlantaga.gov

District 1: Carla Smith, 404-330-6039,  csmith@atlantaga.gov
District 2: Amir R. Farokhi, 404-330-6038, arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
District 3: open seat, 404-330-6046, tkeane@atlantaga.gov
District 4: Cleta Winslow, 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong, 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov
District 6: Jennifer N. Ide, 404-330-6049, jnide@atlantaga.gov
District 7: Howard Shook, 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov
District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit, 404-330-6051, jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
District 9: Dustin Hillis, 404-330-6044, drhillis@atlantaga.gov
District 10: Andrea L. Boone, 404-330-6055, aboone@atlantaga.gov
District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet, 404-330-6054, mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
District 12: Joyce Sheperd, 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov

Post 1 At Large: Micheal Julian Bond, mbond@atlantaga.gov
Post 2 At Large: Matt Westmoreland, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov
Post 3 At Large: Andre Dickens, adickens@atlantaga.gov

Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., Atlanta, GA 30303
City Council: Suite 2900

District City Map

Join Us

 

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close