Atlanta Tree Ordinance Solution

YOUR VOICE IS CRITICAL

We have the opportunity of a lifetime right now to protect our unique urban forest. The city has announced that it is committed to revising the Tree Ordinance within the next year. A group of concerned citizens (including arborists, architects, builders, and naturalists) has worked hard to develop a 4-Step Plan that would balance the development process and enhance our growth plan to embrace economy, community, trees and our urban forest.

Tell your elected officials to support changes to the Ordinance that protect more trees, our best trees, and our highest value urban forest. Even as we grow, it is possible to protect what makes Atlanta different.



*  EMAIL YOUR CITY OFFICIALS  *

Copy/paste this letter and add your personal note. Send to your Council Member and to Tim KeaneCommissioner of Planning (anyone who lives, works or plays in the City can write Tim Keane). Scroll to the bottom of the page for a list of email addresses and a District map.

Dear Councilperson ________,

[Share a personal note here about why the trees of Atlanta are important to you.]

I am deeply concerned by how many trees we are losing in Atlanta. Our urban forest is beloved and unique. We must work together to protect one of Atlanta’s most valuable assets. If tree loss continues at the current rate, we will lose a significant part of our urban forest and Atlanta will become a hot, miserable place, with catastrophic stormwater costs, falling property values, and broken communities. 

Please support changes to the Atlanta Tree Ordinance that:

  • Save MORE trees in plans for building and redevelopment
  • Save our BEST trees
  • REDUCE grading and impervious surface on lots
  • AMEND the development process to better balance trees and development

Our trees are an essential part of our City’s character and an invaluable, irreplaceable resource. We must amend the Tree Ordinance now, or we will lose our urban forest.

Sincerely,
John Doe

 


Thanks for taking action! For more opportunities to make an impact:

Sign Up Here


 

DECISION MAKER CONTACT INFO

Commissioner of City Planning: Tim Keane, 404-330-6037, tkeane@atlantaga.gov, Suite 1450
Atlanta City Council President: Felicia Moore, 404-330-6052, fmoore@atlantaga.gov

District 1: Carla Smith, 404-330-6039,  csmith@atlantaga.gov
District 2: Amir R. Farokhi, 404-330-6038, arfarokhi@atlantaga.gov
District 3: Ivory Lee Young, Jr., 404-330-6046,  ilyoung@atlantaga.gov
District 4: Cleta Winslow, 404-330-6047, cwinslow@atlantaga.gov
District 5: Natalyn Mosby Archibong, 404-330-6048, narchibong@atlantaga.gov
District 6: Jennifer N. Ide, 404-330-6049, jnide@atlantaga.gov
District 7: Howard Shook, 404-330-6050, hshook@atlantaga.gov
District 8: J.P. Matzigkeit, 404-330-6051, jpmatzigkeit@atlantaga.gov
District 9: Dustin Hillis, 404-330-6044, drhillis@atlantaga.gov
District 10: Andrea L. Boone, 404-330-6055, aboone@atlantaga.gov
District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet, 404-330-6054, mcoverstreet@atlantaga.gov
District 12: Joyce Sheperd, 404-330-6053, jmsheperd@atlantaga.gov

Post 1 At Large: Micheal Julian Bond, mbond@atlantaga.gov
Post 2 At Large: Matt Westmoreland, mwestmoreland@atlantaga.gov
Post 3 At Large: Andre Dickens, adickens@atlantaga.gov

Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave., Atlanta, GA 30303
City Council: Suite 2900

District City Map

Join Us

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close